School of Journalism & Communication Ceremony

  • Sunday, June 16, 2019
  • Noon (the ceremony is approx. 2.5 hours)
  • Matthew Knight Arena
  • No tickets are necessary

What you need to do to participate:

This is NOT the same as participating in the ceremony. See #2 for that.
This first step is unnecessary for those who have already received a Fall 2018 or a Winter 2019 degree.
If you are completing all your academic requirements in Spring 2019, Summer 2019 or Fall 2019, this step is done through DuckWeb (Student Menu => Apply for Undergraduate Degree). Select the term you expect to be done with all your academic requirements. This online form tells the university, “I am done with everything. Award my diploma.” 
Once you apply for your degree, you won’t be able to register for subsequent terms. (Example: if you apply for a spring degree, you won’t be able to register for summer or fall term.)
  • Spring 2019 degree: April 28, 2019
  • Summer 2019 degree: July 21, 2019
  • Fall 2019 degree: October 20, 2019
If you have accidentally applied for the wrong term, call the registrar’s office at 541-346-3243 to cancel your degree application. After that, you may go back into DuckWeb to reapply for the appropriate term.

Any Fall 2018 degree recipient, Winter 2019 degree recipient or current senior full major is welcome to participate in the ceremony.

The link to sign up to participate in the ceremony will be available in May. You will receive an email to your account from Marching Order, the vendor used to organize the sign up list. Through this link, you will be able to spell your name phonetically for the name card reader. 

The list of names for the program is currently being compiled. If you don't see your name yet, don't panic. The names come from a variety of sources and it takes a while to get a comprehensive list. The list will be updated weekly, so check back again. 

If you do see your name but would like to adjust how it will be printed (add a middle name, etc.), please notify us.

The deadline to add or adjust a name is May 30, 2019. After that, no additional names can be added or adjusted. 


The Duck Store’s Grad Fair will be from April 8-10. Regalia (cap, gown, etc.) may be purchased at the event and any time afterwards. If the cost of purchasing a regalia packet is prohibitive, please let us know. We have a limited number of robes in our “lending library” and may be able to loan you a set of robes for the event. 

You will receive a link to the survey to your email address in mid-May.